CRAVE – Final Product

Our assignment was to find a problem in our community and then solve it. Over the course of the semester we found six different sources of 3 different types: audio, video, and text. I found a huge amount of information, from NPR, the governor’s office, the Anchorage Daily News, the US DOT, various government reports, and TV news stories. After synthesizing all this information together, I summarized the main problem, analyzed all the possible solutions, and deduced the best one. Here are my findings.

 

Project on SoundCloud

 

I am very satisfied with how I did. My research was comprehensive, in depth, and accurate, everything that research could hope to be. My analysis and conclusion seem logical and effective. Finally, I really like my final script for the presentation. I think I nailed the tone of a podcaster or reporter, exactly as I intended. If I could improve one thing, it would be the quality of my speaking, which was sometimes a bit shoddy as I mispronounced words or messed up the inflection. I might try harder to get rid of the background fuzz too, though I don’t know how to do that, as I used a higher quality microphone in a silent room. I like my music choices and editing as well. Overall, this project was a lot of fun, and I learned a lot too.

I – Creativity and Innovation

Students demonstrate creative thinking, construct knowledge, and develop innovative products and processes
using technology. Students:
a. apply existing knowledge to generate new ideas, products, or processes
b. create original works as a means of personal or group expression
c. use models and simulations to explore complex systems and issues
d. identify trends and forecast possibilities

III – Research and Information Fluency

Students apply digital tools to gather, evaluate, and use information. Students:
a. plan strategies to guide inquiry
b. locate, organize, analyze, evaluate, synthesize, and ethically use information from a variety of sources and
media
c. evaluate and select information sources and digital tools based on the appropriateness to specific tasks
d. process data and report results

IV – Critical Thinking, Problem Solving, and Decision Making

Students use critical thinking skills to plan and conduct research, manage projects, solve problems, and make
informed decisions using appropriate digital tools and resources. Students:
a. identify and define authentic problems and significant questions for investigation
b. plan and manage activities to develop a solution or complete a project
c. collect and analyze data to identify solutions and/or make informed decisions
d. use multiple processes and diverse perspectives to explore alternative solutions

Leave a Reply

