Definition Unit

We were given the task of writing resumes and generally improving our employability. Specifically, we were required to create a LinkedIn profile, in order to create a professional image on a business networking site. Then we wrote up a traditional resume in a word processing program. Finally, we rounded out our our composition process by making a more creative, visual resume in photoshop and pages using various technological resources.

Traditional Resume

I know how to do alt text.

Modeled after a template found in Pages

Creative Resume

Here's some more!

Created using Pages, Gimp, and Numbers. Notice the professional consistent color scheme

And here’s my LinkedInProfile!

This Definition Unit meets the following International Society for Technology in Education Standards:

ISTE Standard I – Creativity and Innovation

Students demonstrate creative thinking, construct knowledge, and develop innovative products and processes
using technology. Students:
a. apply existing knowledge to generate new ideas, products, or processes
b. create original works as a means of personal or group expression
c. use models and simulations to explore complex systems and issues
d. identify trends and forecast possibilities

ISTE Standard IV – Critical Thinking, Problem Solving, and Decision Making

Students use critical thinking skills to plan and conduct research, manage projects, solve problems, and make
informed decisions using appropriate digital tools and resources. Students:
a. identify and define authentic problems and significant questions for investigation
b. plan and manage activities to develop a solution or complete a project
c. collect and analyze data to identify solutions and/or make informed decisions
d. use multiple processes and diverse perspectives to explore alternative solutions

I think the most significant thing I learned from this process was how hard it really is to impress potential employers. It’s very hard to make a resume that I think is up to my standards. Looking at what I have, I wouldn’t  hire me! I know that I would make a great employee, but my resume doesn’t communicate that well at all. That is something I need to work on separately out of this class though, because I am quite satisfied with my presentation of the merits that I DO possess. If I went back, I would probably try to add more content to my creative resume and add on some concrete facts and details to back up what I said. I’m especially proud of the fancy looking QR code that I made for that piece, however.

Leave a Reply

